Tim Kerr Class Of The Brewerton Speedway Modified Field

By Dave Medler

BREWERTON, NY - August 19, 2016 - Tim Kerr out of Picton, Ontario scored his second Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Modified win of 2016 Friday night at the Brewerton Speedway.

In the 35 lap feature Kerr, in a brand new car, moved from his 5th starting spot to second on lap 5 and then set his sights on leader Vinnie Vitale. After looking for a way by Vitale, Kerr on lap 13 found the speed he needed on the bottom of the speedway to be scored the new leader. Once out front Kerr would outrun Pat Ward late in the feature for the popular win.

Other winners on NAPA Auto Parts night were, Glenn Forward (Sportsman) Jeff Sykes (Mod Lites) Chris Bonoffski (4-CYL).

Joe August Jr. would lead the opening two laps of the 35 lap Big Block Modified feature before Vinnie Vitale, using the quick top groove off the speedway, would drive by August on lap 3 to be scored the new leader.

With 5 laps complete, Vitale was still turning quick laps on the top side while a few car lengths behind him Tim Kerr, August, Bower and Matt Hulsizer ran in a tight pack racing for second through fifth before a quick yellow bunched the field up.

At the 10 lap mark, Vitale, Kerr and Bower were in a three-car breakaway race for the lead with Chad Phelps and Hulsizer showing in the top five.

On lap 13, after chasing Vitale lap after lap, Kerr digging on the bottom of the speedway shot into the lead.

With 20 laps showing on the scoring tower Kerr was still showing the way with Vitale, Pat Ward from 12th, Chad Phelps, Bower and Larry Wight from 16th were slugging it out for second through sixth.

Kerr still was setting a quick pace out front with 10 laps to go opening a half-a-second lead. Vitale and Ward ran bumper-to-bumper and side-by-side in an exciting race for second and third. Phelps and Bower still showed on the scoring tower.

On lap 27 Pat Ward moved into second and took off after Kerr. Over the remaining laps Kerr was too quick as he was first under the checkers over Ward. Larry Wight, Vinnie Vitale and Tim Sears Jr. finished third through fifth.

JJ Courcy would lead the opening 3 laps of the 25 lap SUNY Canton Sportsman feature before Mike Stanton Jr. took over the lead on lap 4 with a high-side power move. Just two laps later Courcy fought back on the bottom of the speedway retaking the lead.

With 10 laps complete Courcy held a narrow advantage over Stanton, Brent Joy, Kyle Fink and Glenn Forward.

On lap 16 Stanton once again used the high groove on the speedway to retake the top spot.

With 5 laps to go Stanton still led as Forward moved into second and set his sights on Stanton as the final laps clicked off. Courcy, Kyle Fink and Ricky Yelle looked for top five finishes.

On lap 22 Forward made the winning pass getting by Stanton and driving away for the victory, his third of the year. Mike Stanton Jr., JJ Courcy, Alan Fink and Kyle Fink finished second through fifth.

In the 20 lap Firehouse Subs Mod Lite feature Dave Brown would lead the opening lap before Joe Isabell took over the lead. Isabell’s lead would be short lived as Casey Sykes took over the top spot on lap 6 when Isabell started slowing before pulling into the infield, ending his night.

A yellow on lap 10 would tighten the field up. On the restart Jeff Sykes would be scored the new leader on lap 11. Sykes would lead the rest of the way but the win was anything but easy as he had to hold off Casey Sykes and Doug Williams late in the race. Lowell Zehr and Nick Graziano finished fourth and fifth. 

Chris Bonoffski lead every lap of the 15 lap JB Logging & Firewood Four Cylinder feature never being seriously challenged for the win. Ray Bechler, Chuck Powelczyk, Tim Dunn and Quinn Wallis finished second through fifth.

This Friday, August 26 Mirabito will present a full night of fast, family, affordable, fun racing featuring the Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Modifieds, SUNY Canton Sportsman, Firehouse Subs Mod Lites and it will be Championship night for the JB Logging & Firewood Four Cylinders. Adult admission will be $12 with everyone 18 years old and younger free, pits $27. Gates will open at 5:30 with racing starting at 7:30.

Any questions you might have please contact Cory Reed at (315) 668-6906 or cory@brewertonspeedway.com . For all the latest news go to www.brewertonspeedway.com - www.facebook.com/BrewertonSpeedway .

NAPA Auto Parts Night August 19 Results

(Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Modifieds 35 Laps) - TIM KERR, Pat Ward, Larry Wight, Vinnie Vitale, Tim Sears Jr., Chuck Bower, Ryan Phelps, Matt Hulsizer, Mike Bowman, Chad Phelps, Jimmy Phelps, Peter Britten, Vic Coffey, Tom Sears Jr., Rob Bellinger, Ryan Bartlett, Max McLaughlin, Mike Maresca, Joe August Jr., Brandon Walters, Chris Hile, Tim Schneider Jr.

(Heat Winners) - Matt Hulsizer, Vinnie Vitale, Vic Coffey.

(SUNY Canton Sportsman 25 Laps) - GLENN FORWARD, Mike Stanton Jr., JJ Courcy, Alan Fink, Kyle Fink, Ricky Yelle, Brent Joy, Chris Cunningham, Bill Clark Jr., Tony Finch II, Stephen Denton, Will Shields, Corey Barker, Jeff Stevenson, Ron Davis III, Tyler Trump, Nick Krause, Todd Root, Jack Meeks, Zach Sobotka, Dylan Zacharias, Brandon Carvey, Earl Rudy, Rich Townsend.

(Heat Winners) - Nick Krause, Mike Stanton Jr., Kyle Fink.

(DNQ) - Patrick LaPage, Tony Komuda, Joe Sobotka, Colby Herzog.

(Firehouse Subs Mod Lites 20 Laps) - JEFF SYKES, Casey Sykes, Doug Williams, Lowell Zehr, Nick Graziano, Justin Williams, Zack Babcock, Jim Bogett, Josh Kinney, Sam Usborne, Dave Brown, Ryan Halliday, Jeremy Isabell, Mike Mullen, Brian Meyers, Joe Garafolo, Tucker Wood, Keith Stevenson, Joe Isabell.

(Heat Winners) - Joe Isabell, Jim Bogett.

(JB Logging & Firewood Four Cylinders 15 Laps) -   CHRIS BONOFFSKI, Ray Bechler, Chuck Powelczyk, Tim Dunn, Quinn Wallis, Rick DeGroff, David DeNova, Evan Wright, Sam Curcie, Tim Boylhart, Stephanie Seeley, Tom Mackey, Nate Powers, Stephen Denton.

(Heat Winners) – Chris Bonoffski, Tim Dunn.