Pat Ward First Repeat Modified Winner At The Brewerton Speedway

By Dave Medler

BREWERTON, NY - July 29, 2016 - The competition at the Brewerton Speedway in the Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Modifieds has been so tough in 2016 it took until the last Friday of July to get the first repeat winner.

In the 35 lap feature Pat Ward would erase recent finishes that were not up to his standards as he dominated the race. After taking the lead on lap 2 the closest anyone would get to Ward was during a late caution period and restart. It was Ward’s 13th career win at the speedway.

The SUNY Canton Sportsman saw a career first win for Rich Townsend. Other winners on CJ’s Car America night were Jim Bogett, Firehouse Subs Mod Lites and Chuck Powelczyk, JB Logging & Firewood Four Cylinders.

Rich Scagliotta and Pat Ward would lead the Big Block Modified field down to the green with Scagliotta grabbing the early advantage. Ward running the top of the speedway would blast into the lead on lap three.

With 10 laps complete and no yellows Ward built up an over two second lead as he started catching cars at the back of the pack. You could've thrown a blanket over Scagliotta, Matt Hulsizer and Tom Sears Jr. in a tight fight for second through fourth, Ryan Phelps was just  a few car lengths back in fifth.

At the 15 lap mark Ward continued to stretch his lead out as he started to put cars down a lap. Hulsizer ran alone in second as there was a close battle between Sears, Scagliotta, Jimmy Phelps and Ryan Phelps.

With 10 laps to go Ward was in another zip code as he continued to put cars a lap down as his race pace was not slowing. Sears, Hulsizer, Jimmy Phelps, Ryan Phelps and Larry Wight were still putting on a show using every inch of the speedway looking for an advantage.

Even a yellow on lap 27 that erased Pat Ward’s lead wasn’t going to slow him down. On the restart and final laps there was no catching Ward as he blasted first under the checkers. Jimmy Phelps, Tom Sears Jr., Matt Hulsizer and Ryan Phelps finished second through fifth.

In the 25 lap SUNY Canton Sportsman feature Joe Sobotka would lead the opening couple laps before Alan Fink would take over the top spot.

A yellow on lap 12 would take away an almost three second lead Fink built up. This would put Ricky Yelle, Rich Townsend, Corey Barker and Todd Root right with Fink on the restart.

With 10 laps to go Townsend found the bite he needed on the bottom as he drove by Fink and into the lead.

Over the final laps Townsend would have to hold off a furious challenge from Root winning by a slim 0.353 at the checkers for his first career Brewerton victory. Alan Fink, Stephen Denton and Tony Finch II finished third through fifth.

Jim Bogett would pick up the win in the 20 lap Firehouse Subs Mod Lites. The win was anything but easy. Bogett had to hold off serious challenges the majority of the race from Jeff and Casey Sykes. It all came down to the final lap that saw Bogett win by a mere 0.219 over Jeff Sykes and 0.588 over Casey Sykes. Lowell Zehr and Mike Mullen finished fourth and fifth.

Quinn Wallace, Sam Curcie and Chris Bonoffski would all lead laps before Chuck Powelczyk would take the lead on lap six. Once out front Powelczyk would cruise to the 15 lap JB Logging & Firewood Four Cylinder win. Ray Bechler, Tim Dunn, Sam Curcie and Quinn Wallace finished second through fifth.

This Friday, August 5 VP Small Engine Fuels  will present a night of fast, affordable, family fun, racing. Featuring the Big Block Modifieds, Sportsman, Four Cylinders plus the second visit from the NY6A 600 Micro Sprint Tour. Mod Lites will have the night off.

Adult grandstand admission will be $12 with everyone 18 years old and younger free, pits $27. Gates will open at 5:30 with racing at 7:30.

Any questions you might have and for marketing opportunities please contact Cory Reed at  (315) 668-6906. For all the latest news go to - . 

CJ's Car America Night July 29 Results.

(Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Modifieds 35 Laps) - PAT WARD, Jimmy Phelps, Tom Sears Jr., Matt Hulsizer, Ryan Phelps, Max McLaughlin, Larry Wight, Rob Bellinger, Ryan Bartlett, Tim Sears Jr., Billy Whittaker, Rich Scagliotta, Chad Phelps, Mike Bowman, Vic Coffey, Tim Kerr, Chuck Bower, Chris Hile, Ryan Arbuthnot, Jeff Blackburn, Brandon Walters, Vinnie Vitale. DNS Joe August Jr.

(Heat Winners) - Ryan Phelps, Chad Phelps,Tom Sears Jr.

(SUNY Canton Sportsman 25 Laps) -  RICH TOWNSEND, Todd Root, Alan Fink, Stephen Denton, Tony Finch II, Ron Davis III, Corey Barker, Billy Clark Jr.,Tyler  Trump Earl Rudy, Nick Krause, Glenn Forward, Chris Cunningham, JJ Courcy, Jeff Stevenson, Jordan Bennett, Zach Sobotka, Ricky Yelle, Joe Sobotka, Brent Joy, Mike Stanton Jr., Bob Bennett, Kyle Fink, Dylan Zacharias, Will Shields.

(Tom Juno Power Seal Asphalt Sealer $50 Heat Winners) - Joe Sobotka, Ricky Yelle, Ron Davis III.

(DNQ) - Steve Marshall, Lanson Albanese, John Strickler, Mike Taylor, Jack Meeks.

(Firehouse Subs Mod Lites 20 Laps) - JIM BOGETT, Jeff Sykes, Casey Sykes, Lowell Zehr, Mike Mullen, Josh Kinney, Sam Usborne, Tucker Halliday, Keith Stevenson, Doug Williams, Brian Meyers, Nick Graziano, Dave Brown, Joe Isabell.

(Heat Winners) - Josh Kinney, Jim Bogett.

(JB Logging & Firewood Four Cylinders 15 Laps) - CHUCK POWELCZYK, Ray Bechler, Tim Dunn, Sam Curcie, Quinn Wallace, Nate Powers,  Evan Wright, Stephanie Seeley, Chris Bonoffski.

(Heat Winners) - Chris Bonoffski.