Mike Bowman, Billy Clark Jr. And Josh Kinney First Time Brewerton Speedway Feature Winners

By Dave Medler

BREWERTON, NY - July 22, 2016 - First career feature winners are always special. Friday night at the Brewerton Speedway the Big Block Modifieds, Sportsman and Mod Lites saw first time winners while the Four Cylinders saw a five time winner.

Going to victory lane on 911 Restoration & Shriners Night were, Mike Bowman (Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Big Block Modifieds) Billy Clark Jr. (SUNY Canton Sportsman) Josh Kinney (Firehouse Subs Mod Lites) Ray Bechler (JB Logging & Firewood Four Cylinders). There has yet to be a repeat winner in the Big Block Modifieds this season.

The first attempt to start the 35 lap Big Block Modified feature would see the field get stacked up with Chad Phelps, Tom Sears Jr. and Jimmy Phelps all going to the pits with only Sears not being able to return.

The second attempt to get the feature started was successful that saw Mike Bowman grab the early advantage.

With 10 laps complete Bowman was setting a fast pace out front running the bottom of the speedway opening a ten car length advantage over Tim Sears Jr. and Max McLaughlin as they were in a close battle for second and third. Vic Coffey and Ryan Phelps showed in the top five on the scoring tower.

At the 15 lap point Bowman still led but now he had McLaughlin all over him with Sears right there waiting for any mistake by the top two.

With 10 laps to go McLaughlin kept trying to get underneath Bowman but couldn’t find the speed he needed to get by just before a quick yellow would slow the race. This would line up Bowman, McLaughlin, Sears, Coffey, Phelps and last week's winner Ryan Bartlett for a dash to the checkers.

On lap 28 McLaughlin got off the bottom and would take the lead using the top of the speedway.That lead would be short lived and Bowman would shoot back into the lead one lap later.

One last caution period would come on lap 31 giving the field one last shot at Bowman to try and take away his first ever Brewerton win.

Over the remaining laps the racing would be a wild two and three wide battle that saw Bowman not make a mistake as he was first under the checkers over Tim Sears Jr. by 0.296 of a second. Chris Hile made a late charge to finish third followed by Max McLaughlin and Jimmy Phelps.

In the 25 lap SUNY Canton Sportsman feature Mike Stanton Jr. would grab the lead at the drop of the green. He would only lead 3 laps as he would hit a yuke tire in turn two collapsing his front end.

JJ Courcy would lead until lap 7 when he left an opening that Billy Clark Jr. took advantage of, bolting into the lead.

Clark would jump out to a full straightaway lead until ]a caution on lap 12 would wipe out the advantage he built up.

With 10 laps to go Clark still showed the way as Tony Finch II who was running second was closing the gap on Clark’s lead. Earl Rudy, Tyler Trump, Dylan Zacharias, Todd Root were in a tight battle for third through sixth.

Even with a couple caution periods over the remaining laps it was not going to stop Billy Clark Jr. from his first career Brewerton victory. Tony Finch II, Tyler Trump, Earl Rudy and Todd Root finished second through fifth.

Josh Kinney was the class of the field in the 20 lap Firehouse Subs Mod Lite feature grabbing his first career Brewerton win. Kinney would take the lead on lap 3 and never look back. Jeff Sykes, Nick Graziano, Casey Sykes and Mike Mullen finished second through fifth.

In the 15 lap JB Logging & Firewood Four Cylinder feature Chuck Powelczyk would go from tenth starting spot to the lead in just two laps. After a yellow on lap 9 it would take Ray Bechler just two laps to take the lead and then go on to win his fifth feature of the year. Chuck Powelczyk, Tim Dunn, Sam Curcie and Thomas  Mackey finished second through fifth.

In the One-On-One Spectator races Jerry Herbert picked up the $50 911 Restoration bounty by beating Chris Rombough and his Subaru in the first round. Jerry Curcie Jr. was the overall winner.

This Friday, July 29 CJ’s Car America presents a night of fast, affordable, family fun featuring the Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Big Block Modifieds, SUNY Canton Sportsman, Firehouse Subs Mod Lites and JB Logging & Firewood Four Cylinders.

Adult admission on July 29 is $12 with everyone 18 years old and younger free, pits are $27. Gates will open at 5:30 with racing at 7:30.

Any questions you might have and for marketing opportunities please contact Cory Reed at cory@brewertonspeedway.com (315) 668-6906. For all the latest news go to www.brewertonspeedway.com - www.facebook.com/BrewertonSpeedway .

911 Restoration/Shriners Night July 22 Results

(Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Modifieds 35 Laps) - MIKE BOWMAN, Tim Sears Jr., Chris Hile, Max McLaughlin, Jimmy Phelps, Ryan Phelps, Vic Coffey, Larry Wight, Pat Ward, Ryan Bartlett, Chad Phelps, Rob Bellinger, Billy Whittaker, Chuck Bower, Joe August Jr., Vinnie Vitale, Tim Kerr, Matt Hulsizer, Rich Scagliotta, John West, Jim Witko Jr., Jeff Blackburn, Tom Sears Jr. DNS Ryan Arbuthnot.

(Heat Winners) - Vic Coffey, Mike Bowman, Jimmy Phelps.

(SUNY Canton Sportsman 25 Laps) - BILLY CLARK JR., Tony Finch II, Tyler Trump, Earl Rudy, Todd Root, Stephen Denton, Glenn Forward, Nick Krause, Ron Davis III, JJ Courcy, Chris Cunningham, Mike Taylor, Kyle Fink Zach Sobotka, Jeff Stevenson, Corey Barker, Jack Meeks, Brent Joy, Steve Marshall, Dylan Zacharias, Ricky Yelle, Rich Townsend, Mike Stanton Jr., Joe Sobotka, Alan Fink.

(Heat Winners) - Mike Stanton Jr., JJ Courcy, Nick Krause.

(Firehouse Subs Mod Lites 20 Laps) - JOSH KINNEY, Jeff Sykes, Nick Graziano, Casey Sykes, Mike Mullen, Jim Bogett, Sam Usborne, Lowell Zehr, Mike LaRose, Tucker Halliday, Keith Stevenson, Jim Dunham, Jeremy Isabell, Joe Garafolo, Zack Babcock, Brian Meyers, DNS Dave Brown, Joe Isabell.

(Heat Winners) - Jeff Sykes, Josh Kinney.

(JB Logging & Firewood Four Cylinders 15 Laps) -  RAY BECHLER, Chuck Powelczyk, Tim Dunn, Sam Curcie, Thomas  Mackey, Quinn Wallis, Evan Wright, Stephanie Seeley, Jake Petit, Chris Bonoffski.

(Heat Winners) - Chris Bonoffski.

(One-On-One Spectator Races) - Race Winner - Jerry Herbert. 911 Restoration $50 Bounty Winner - Jerry Curcie Jr.