Jimmy Phelps Starts The 2016 Brewerton Speedway Season With Modified Win;Krause, Sykes And Bechler Also Take Opening Night Wins

By Dave Medler

BREWERTON, NY - May 13, 2016 - A great field of cars and the fans turned out Friday night for the 2016 season opener at the Brewerton Speedway. The racing on the “D-Shaped Dirt Demon” didn’t disappoint as the track was fast with multiple racing grooves.

In the 35 lap Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Modified feature, Jimmy Phelps served notice to the rest of the division that he will be a serious contender for the track championship. Phelps behind the wheel of his J&B Installations/HBR/Mohawk Northeast/ No. 98H/ Troyer  took the lead from Pat Ward on lap 3 and put on a driving clinic the rest of the way never being seriously challenged.

Behind Phelps, the racing was two and three wide that saw the rest of the top-five not decided until the checkers. Rob Bellinger, Chris Hile and Matt Sheppard went into turns three and four, three wide coming down to the finish that scoring showed Hile, second, Sheppard, third  and Bellinger fourth. Rookie Max McLaughlin was impressive in his first ever Brewerton race coming home fifth.

Last Saturday at the Brewerton Speedway sister track the Fulton Speedway, Nick Krause and Todd Root put on a show in the 25 lap SUNY Canton Sportsman feature that saw Root take advantage of Krause getting caught behind a lapped car on the final lap for the win.

Friday night Krause turned the tables on Root taking the popular SUNY Canton feature win over Root. Krause and Root would run nose to tail and side by side swapping the lead back and forth with Krause making the winning pass on lap 22 and winning by 00.859 over Root at the checkers. Jordan Bennett, Zach Sobotka and Ricky Yelle would finish third through fifth.

Jeff Sykes led every lap of the 20 lap Firehouse Subs Mod Lite feature. His win was anything but easy as he survived restarts and a late race challenges from first,Jeff Isabell Jr. and on the final lap from Zack Babcock. Justin williams and Mike Mullen finished fourth and fifth behind Sykes, Babcock and Isabell.

Ray Bechler was the class of the field in the 15 lap JB Logging & Firewood Four Cylinder Feature. Bechler would take the lead from Sam Curcie on lap 2  and cruised first under the checkers. Sam Curcie, Chris Bonoffski, Mike Sherbeck and Ken Pitsley finished second through fifth.

This Friday, May 20th Ferris Mowers will present a night of fast, family, affordable, fun. On the four star race program will be the Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Modifieds, SUNY Canton Sportsman, Firehouse Subs Mod Lites and JB Logging & Firewood Four Cylinders.

Adult admission will be $12 with everyone 18 and under free. Pits will be $27. Gates will open at 5:30 with racing at 7:30.

Thanks to major marketing partner Billy Whittaker Cars & Trux, fans will be able to participate in the Billy Whittaker Cars & Trux Best Seat In The House Upgrade. Fans just have to stop by the novelty stand and enter their name into a drawing that will see the winner and seven of their friends  upgraded to a tower room for the nights racing.

For any questions or marketing opportunities please contact Cory Reed at cory@brewertonspeedway.com (315) 668-6906. For all the latest news go to www.brewertonspeedway.com . Like the track Facebook page www.facebook.com/BrewertonSpeedway .

Ehrlich Pest Control Opening Night Results

(Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Modifieds 35 Laps) - JIMMY PHELPS, Chris Hile, Matt Sheppard, Rob Bellinger, Max McLaughlin, Vic Coffey, Pat Ward, Matt Hulsizer, Tom Sears Jr., Ryan Phelps, Tim Sears Jr.,Chuck Bower, Joe August Jr., Ryan Bartlett, Vinnie Vitale, Rich Scagliotta, Jeff Blackburn, Chad Phelps, Sean Beardsley, Tim Kerr, Larry Wight, Andrew Ferguson, Jim Witko Jr., Mike Bowman.

(SUNY Canton Sportsman 25 Laps) - NICK KRAUSE, Todd Root, Jordan Bennett, Zach Sobotka, Ricky Yelle, Chris Cunningham, Ron Davis III, Tyler Trump,Rich Townsend,  Alan Fink, Stephen Denton, Gregg Kimball, Jack Meeks, Mike Button, Tye-Scott Rood, Glenn Forward, Kyle Fink, Dylan Zacharias, Joe Sobotka, Tony Komuda, Kelly Smith, Torrey Stoughtenger, Corey Barker, Billy Clark Jr., Beth Bellinger, DNS Tony Finch II, Brent Joy.

(DNQ) - James Carlson, Mike Stanton Jr.,Dave Marcuccilli, John West, Brett Draper.

(Firehouse Subs Mod Lites 20 Laps) - JEFF SYKES, Zack Babcock, Jeff Isabell Jr., Justin Williams, Mike Mullen, Jeremy Isabell, Lowell Zehr, Keith Stevenson, Casey Sykes, Dave Brown, Jim Bogett, Josh Kinney, Chris Bonoffsski, Sam Usborne, Joe Isabell, Brian Meyers, Joe Garafolo.

(JB Logging & Firewood Four-Cylinders 20 Laps) - RAY BECHLER, Sam Curcie, Chris Bonoffski, Mike Sherbeck, Ken Pitsley, Tim Dunn, Donny Rider, Colby Herzog, Thomas Mackey, Stephanie Seeley, Evan Wright, Quinn Wallis, Stephen Randall, Sam Carista, Chuck Powelczyk, DNS Dan VanAllen.