Jimmy Phelps Takes The Brewerton Speedway Checkers; Matt Sheppard Crowned Modified Track Champion

By Dave Medler – BREWERTON, NY – September 4, 2015 – It came down to a battle of teammates on the final point’s night to decide the 2015 track championship in the Tracey Road Equipment Modifieds.
In the 35-lap Modified feature Jimmy Phelps would take the lead from Jim Witko Jr. on lap-22 and then would hold off a late charge from Larry Wight to take the victory.

Phelps' HBR teammate Matt Sheppard stayed out of trouble and brought home an eighth place finish that would give him the title by ten-points over Jimmy Phelps.

Other winners on NAPA & A-Verdi Storage Containers night were, Corey Barker (SUNY Canton Sportsman) Joe Isabell (Pro Race Cars Mod Lites) Jason Barney (Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints).

(2015 Track Champions) – Matt Sheppard (Tracey Road Equipment Modifieds) Jack Meeks (SUNY Canton Sportsman) Joe Isabell (Pro Race Cars Mod Lites) Chuck Powelczyk (Hilton’s Automotive Four-Cylinders).

Jim Witko Jr. would jump out to the narrow lead to set the pace in the final 35-lap Tracey Road Equipment Modified feature of the season.

With 10-laps complete Witko saw the lead he had built up shrink as he had Vinnie Vitale and Tom Sears Jr. all over him in a three-way slug-fest at the front of the field. Behind the top-three Chuck Bower and Jimmy Phelps were having a fight of their own in the top-five.

At the 15-lap mark you could have thrown a blanket over Witko, Vitale and Sears. Just a couple of car lengths back was Phelps and Bower making it a five-way battle for the lead.

On lap-19 Phelps made a bold going from fourth to second. Just three-laps later Phelps found the bite he needed on the speedway to be scored the new leader.

With 10-laps to go Phelps opened the biggest lead of the night as Larry Wight, Witko, Sears and Bower showed on the scoring tower.

A yellow on lap-26 would erase Phelps' lead setting up a 9-lap shootout to the checkers. Over the remaining laps Phelps would search different lanes on the speedway to hold off a hard-charging Wight. Billy Decker came on late to finish third with Witko and Tom Sears Jr. rounding out the top-five.

The stage was set in the 25-lap SUNY Canton Sportsman feature for the track championship between Ron Davis III who had a single point lead over Jack Meeks.

Rich Townsend would jump out to the early lead to set a quick pace in the feature.

At the 5-lap mark Townsend opened about a ten car length lead while behind him Corey Barker moved into second followed by Nick Krause, Gregg Kimball and Dylan Zacharias.

With 10-laps complete Townsend still led but Barker started rapidly cutting into Townsend's lead. Behind the top-two, Krause, James Carlson and Kimball were having a battle of their own for third through fifth.

Barker would take advantage of a yellow on lap-12 to drive into the lead using the top of the speedway on the restart.

With 10-laps to go Barker held a few car lengths' advantage out front while behind him Townsend, Krause, Carlson, Jack Meeks and Kimball used every inch of the speedway in a fight for second through sixth.

The final yellow of the race came on lap-21 setting up a four-lap dash to the checkers. When the green came back out nobody had anything for Barker as he was the first under the checkers for his first Brewerton win of the season. Meeks, Townsend, Krause and Ron Davis III finished second through fifth.

Meeks' second place, coupled with Davis' fifth place, gave Jack Meeks the SUNY Canton Sportsman track championship by seven points.

Only four-points separated Joe Isabell and Jim Bogett in the race for the Pro Race Cars Mod Lites track championship.

In the 20-lap feature Joe Isabell did what he had to do, taking the lead on lap-2 and then outdistanced Joe Garafolo to the finish. Mike Mullen Jim Bogett and Lowell Zehr finished third through fifth.

Darryl Ruggles would lead the opening 3-laps of the 25-lap Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprint feature until Jeff Cook took the lead on a lap-4 restart.

At the 10-lap Mark Cook ran alone out front with a four-way fight  between Dylan Swiernik, Steve Poirier, Chuck Hebing and Jason Barney for second through fifth entertaining the crowd before a quick yellow.
On the restart Swiernik used a slide job to take the lead while Barney moved to second and started putting pressure on the leader.

On lap-14 hometown favorite Jason Barney used the bottom of the speedway to shoot into the top-spot.

Just when it looked like Barney was going to drive away from the field the yellow would wave on lap-20 when fourth place running Sam Reakes clipped a yuke tire in turn three ending his top-five run.

When the green came back out Barney out ran Poirier to the checkers. Paul Kinney, Larry Wight and Chuck Hebing finished third through fifth.

Circle your calendars for Friday & Saturday September 18-19 for ‘Duel At The Demon.’ On Friday there will be a 50-lap Modified Shootout plus $1,000-to-win Upstate Sportsman Alliance Industrial Tire Of CNY Sportsman Shootout Qualifier. Saturday, McDonald's presents a 100-lap Big Block Modified Super DIRTcar Series plus Sportsman and Mod Lites. Racing will start both days at 7:30. Friday Adult grandstand admission is $20 Students 14 yrs. old and younger $5. Saturday Adult grandstand admission is $25 Students 14 yrs. old and younger $10.

The 2015 racing season will wrap up in a big way during Super DIRT Week. On Thursday, October 8th SUNY Canton Presents 23rd Hurricane 100 DIRTcar 358 Modified Series plus DIRTcar Sportsman Series. Racing will take the first green flag at 7:30.

Any questions you might have please contact Cory Reed at cory@brewertonspeedway.com (315) 668-6906. For all the latest news visit www.brewertonspeedway.com and like the track Facebook page www.facebook.com/BrewertonSpeedway .

NAPA & A-Verdi Storage Containers Night Results

(Tracey Road Equipment Modifieds 35 Laps) – JIMMY PHELPS, Larry Wight, Billy Decker, Jim Witko Jr., Tom Sears Jr., Chuck Bower, Chad Phelps, Matt Sheppard, Pat Ward, Vinnie Vitale, Roy Bresnahan, Chris Hile, Matt Hulsizer, Tim Kerr, Rob Bellinger, Ryan Phelps, Danny Varin, Tim Sears Jr., Vic Coffey, DNS, Ryan Bartlett.

2015 Tracey Road Equipment Modified Track Champion – Matt Sheppard.

(SUNY Canton Sportsman 25 Laps) -  COREY BARKER, Jack Meeks, Rich Townsend, Nick Krause, Ron Davis III, Chris Cunningham, Rickey Yelle, Dylan Zacharias, Stephen Denton, Tony Finch II, Will Shields, Tony Komuda, George Dyer, Brent Joy, Steve Abt, Gregg Kimball, James Carlson, Earl Rudy, Alan Fink, Jim Spano, Kelly Smith, Mike Stanton Jr., Mike Prentice.

2015 SUNY Canton Track Champion – Jack Meeks.

(Pro Race Cars Mod Lites 15 Laps) – JOE ISABELL,  Joe Garafolo, Mike Mullen, Jim Bogett, Lowell Zehr, Jeff Sykes, Nick Graziano, Steven Beckett, Jeremy Isabell, Sam Usborne, Zack Babcock, Kelly Skinner, Keith Stevenson, Dave Brown.

(2015 Pro Race Cars Mod Lites Track Champion) – Joe Isabell.

(2015 Hilton’s Automotive Four-Cylinders Track Champion) – Chuck Powelczyk.

(Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints 25 Laps) – JASON BARNEY, Steve Poirier, Paul Kinney, Larry Wight, Chuck Hebing, Shawn Donath, Dylan Swiernik, Joe Trenca, Darryl Ruggles, Curt Michael, Jeff Cook, Matt Tanner, Alysha Ruggles, Mike Stelter, Chad Miller, Paulie Colagiovanni, Danny Varin, Tommy Wickham, Steve Hutchinson, Sam Reakes, Dave Axton, Parker Evans, Keith Granholm.