Jimmy Phelps Wheels To First Brewerton Speedway Win Of 2015

By Dave Medler - BREWERTON, NY - July 24, 2015 - Right from the drop of the green to start the season and coming into this week’s racing, Baldwinsville, NY driver Jimmy Phelps has been fast racking up top-five finishes and knocking on victory lane's door. Friday night Phelps not only knocked on the door, he swung the door wide open, picking up his first Tracey Road Equipment Modified feature win of the year at the Brewerton Speedway.

In the caution free 35-Lap Feature, Phelps would move into second place on Lap-6 and then would spend the next 16-Laps battling race-long leader Robbie Bellinger before making the final pass for the lead on Lap-23. Once out front Phelps would outdistance Bellinger the rest of the way for the popular win.

Other winners on Syracuse Haulers night were, Ron Davis III (SUNY Canton Sportsman) Jeff Isabell Jr. (Pro Race Cars Mod Lites) Chuck Powelczyk (Hilton’s Automotive Four-Cylinders).

Robbie Bellinger would lead the opening lap by a narrow margin over Ryan Bartlett to start the exciting 35-Lap Tracey Road Equipment Modified feature.

With 10-Laps complete, Bellinger would build up an over two-second lead on the rest of the field as he looked to run away and hide in the early going. Jimmy Phelps ran alone in second with Ryan Phelps, Chuck Bower, Bartlett and Billy Decker waging their own battle racing for third through sixth.

At the 15-Lap mark, Bellinger still showed the way out front as Phelps cut his lead in half, just before the halfway point. Behind the top-two, Ryan Phelps, Bower and Bartlett showed on the scoring tower.

On Lap-20, Phelps caught Bellinger as the pair raced bumper to bumper and side by side as they fought for the lead in heavy traffic. Ryan Phelps, Bower and Decker were putting on a show of their own in the top-five.

On Lap-21 Phelps would wrestle the lead away from Bellinger but Bellinger retook the lead one lap later. Phelps would battle back on Lap-23 making the final pass for the lead.

Over the remaining laps, Jimmy Phelps would outdistance Robbie Bellinger to the checkers for his first Brewerton win of the season. Billy Decker, Chuck Bower and Ryan Phelps would finish third through fifth. Pat Ward, Ryan Bartlett, Matt Sheppard, Larry Wight and Chad Phelps would complete the top-ten.

In the 25-Lap SUNY Canton Sportsman feature Mike Prentice would jump out to the narrow lead to start the always entertaining feature while behind him there was two and three wide racing in the early going.

With 5-Laps showing on the scoring tower, Prentice and James Carlson would come across the line just inches apart battling for the top-spot. Behind the top-two, Gregg Kimball, Chris Cunningham, Dylan Zacharias and Ricky Yelle were using every inch of the speedway fighting for third through sixth.

After a caution period, James Carlson would grab the lead on a Lap-6 restart and show the way until Prentice would retake the lead on Lap-10 where you could have thrown a blanket over Prentice, Carlson, Ron Davis III with Todd Root and Yelle within striking distance.

On Lap-11 Davis found the speed he needed to be scored the new leader and start his charge to the feature win. Over the remaining laps Davis not only had to fight off different drivers challenging him for the lead, but also had to survive a left front flat tire that made his car a handful to drive. Todd Root, Corey Barker, Nick Krause, Ricky Yelle, would finish second through fifth. James Carlson, Dylan Zacharias, Brent Joy, Steve Abt and George Dyer would complete the top-ten.

In the 20-Lap Pro Race Cars Mod Lite feature the name Isabell returned to victory lane. Jeff Isabell Jr. would take the lead from Zach Babcock on Lap-9 and would never look back for his second win of the year. Mike Mullen, Zach Babcock, Jim Bogett and Justin Williams would finish second through fifth., Lowell Zehr, Gary Jeffries, Brian Meyers, Doug Williams and Dave Brown would complete the top-ten.

Chuck Powelczk had a special night picking up his 80th speedway win in the Hilton’s Automotive Four-Cylinders. Powelczyk would take the lead on Lap-7 of the 15-Lap feature from Chris Bonoffski and never look back. In pursuit of his 80th win, Powelczyk would carry the flag No. 007 on his car in honor of his close friend Russ Cusson who lost his life at the speedway 13 years earlier.

Chris Rombough won the One-On-One Spectator race.

The Brewerton Speedway will close out the month of Jult this Friday the 31st as CJ’s Car America will present a big night of racing. On the race card will be the Tracey Road Equipment Modifieds, SUNY Canton Sportsman, Hilton’s Automotive Four-Cylinders plus the second visit of the NY6A 600 Micro-Sprint Tour. Pro Race Cars Mod Lites will have the night off.

Adult grandstand admission will be $12 with everyone 18 yrs. old and younger FREE. Pit admission is $27 Participant/$30 Non-Participant. Gates will open at 5:30 with racing at 7:30.

Any questions you might have please contact Cory Reed cory@brewertonspeedway.com (315) 668-6906. Keep up with all the latest news by going to www.brewertonspeedway.com and like the track Facebook page www.facebook.com/BrewertonSpeedway .

(Tracey Road Equipment Modifieds 35 Laps) -  JIMMY PHELPS, Rob Bellinger, Billy Decker, Chuck Bower, Ryan Phelps, Pat Ward, Ryan Bartlett, Matt Sheppard, Larry Wight, Chad Phelps, Tim Sears Jr., Chris Mackey, Matt Hulsizer, Mike Bowman, Matt Fink, Vinnie Vitale, Tim Kerr, Vic Coffey, Chris Hile, Jim Witko Jr., Jeff Blackburn, Andrew Ferguson.

(Omni Services Heat Winners) - Larry Wight, Rob Bellinger, Ryan Phelps.

(SUNY Canton Sportsman 25 Laps) -  RON DAVIS III, Todd Root, Corey Barker, Nick Krause, Ricky Yelle, James Carlson, Dylan Zacharias, Brent Joy, Steve Abt, George Dyer, Mike Stanton Jr., Rocky Grosso, Taylor Jackson, Chris Cunningham, Mike Prentice, Gregg Kimball, Alan Fink, Jack Meeks, Tony Finch II, Earl Rudy, Stephen Denton.

(Pro Race Cars Mod Lites 20 Laps) -  JEFF ISABELL JR., Mike Mullen, Zach Babcock, Jim Bogett, Justin Williams, Lowell Zehr, Gary Jeffries, Brian Meyers, Doug Williams, Dave Brown, Jeff Sykes, Sam Usborne, Kelly Skinner, Joe Isabell, James Dunham.

(Hilton’s Automotive Four-Cylinders 15 Laps) - CHUCK POWELCZYK, Colby Herzog, Chris Bonoffski, Sam Curcie, Jacobe Palmiter, Sam Carista, Bill Carista,Stephanie Seeley, Brad Dove, Jerry Curcie Jr., Nate Powers, Joe Hall, Thomas Mackey. DNS, Jacob Dupra.

(One-On-One Spectator) - Chris Rombough.