Tim Kerr Upsets Star-Studded Brewerton Speedway Modified Field

By Dave Medler – BREWERTON, NY – July 3, 2015 – Picton, Ontario’s Tim Kerr made the decision to make the long drive every Friday from Canada to the Brewerton Speedway for the 2015 season to race against one of the toughest Modified fields anywhere in the Northeast.

Even though the learning curve has been tough in his first full season at the ‘D-Shaped Dirt Demon’ all of that hard work paid off Friday night with his first ever 35-Lap Tracey Road Equipment Modified victory as he outran Vic Coffey and Larry Wight to the checkers in the caution free feature.

Other winners on Omni Services Night were, Tony Finch II (SUNY Canton Sportsman) Mike Mullen (Pro Race Cars Mod Lites) Colby Herzog (Hilton’s Automotive Four-Cylinders) Clayton Brewer III (NY6A 600 Micro Sprints).

Andrew Ferguson and Tim Kerr would lead the Tracey Road Equipment Modified field down to the green with Kerr leading the opening lap. On Lap-2 rookie Andrew Ferguson would lead his first ever laps holding the top-spot until Kerr retook the lead on Lap-5.

With 10-Laps complete Kerr opened around a ten car length advantage as Vic Coffey and Larry Wight from ninth starting spot fought for second and third. Jim Witko Jr. and Ferguson showed in the top-five.

Kerr still held the advantage on Lap-15 over Coffey and Wight. Not far behind the top-three, Witko, Mike Bowman and Chad Phelps battled for third through sixth.

On Lap-20 and no yellows, Kerr opened an almost two-second lead over Coffey and Wight as they tried to find a way to close the gap. Bowman and Witko still ran in the top-five.

With 10-Laps to go Coffey and Wight cut Kerr's lead in half as the trio made their way by back markers. Bowman and Witko still raced for a top-five finish.

Over the remaining laps everyone wondered if Kerr would over-think and try not to make a mistake. Kerr drove a flawless race by hitting his marks to bring home the biggest win of his career. Vic Coffey, Larry Wight, Billy Decker and Mike Bowman finished second through fifth.

Wednesday night's Sportsman Alliance feature came down to a last lap, last corner pass for the win for Jack Meeks. Could Friday's SUNY Canton Sportsman feature be just as exciting? Yes it was.

Nick Krause would bolt out to the early lead in the feature as the action behind him was hot and heavy as there were battles all over the speedway. Just  behind Krause, Steve Abt, Corey Barker and Stephen Denton were locked in a tight fight for second, third and fourth with Chris Cunningham a couple car lengths back in fifth.

On Lap-10 Krause held a narrow lead with Abt, Barker and Denton still battling for position keeping Krause in their sights.

With 10-Laps to go Krause still showed the way with Abt alone in second as he chased the leader. Barker, Tony Finch II, Rich Townsend and Alan Fink were in a pack racing for third through sixth.

A yellow on Lap-18 would bunch the field up for a restart. When the green came back out Abt would get out of shape allowing Barker and Finch to shoot by to take over second and third.

The final caution came on Lap-20 setting up a five-lap dash to the checkers. Over the final laps Finch would throw everything he had at Krause. The final two-laps Krause and Finch would race side by side with Finch making the winning pass exiting turn four and winning the drag race to the checkers by 00.327. Alan Fink, Corey Barker and Brent Joy finished third through fifth.

In the 20-Lap Pro Race Cars Mod Lite feature Zach Babcock would lead the opening two-laps before former track champion Mike Mullen took over the top spot. Jeff Isabell  Jr. would snag the lead away on Lap-6 and took off from the field. For the rest of the feature the racing from second on back was in doubt until the checkers. Isabell would be the first under the checkers. In post race weigh-in Isabell was found to be light on the scales giving the win to Mike Mullen. Jim Bogett, Jeff Sykes, Joe Garafolo and Zach Babcock finished second through fifth.

Ray Herzog would lead the opening two-laps in the 15-Lap Hilton's Automotive feature before Colby Herzog would grab the top spot. On Lap-7 undefeated Chuck Powelczyk would grab the lead after starting deep in the field. Just when it looked like Powelczyk would be heading for his eighth win in eight starts a mechanical problem sidelined his VW ending his run. Over the final laps Colby Herzog would charge to the win.

The NY6A 600 Micro Sprints started their Speedweek at the Brewerton Speedway. Danny Knoll would lead the opening 8-Laps of the 25-Lap feature until Clayton Brewer III took over the lead. Clayton Brewer a former Mod Lite and Fulton Speedway Sportsman racer was gone from the rest of the field until late cautions would tighten up the field. Over the final laps Brewer would hold off a couple challenges from Jim Young to take the popular win. Kyle Coffey, Danny Knoll and Chris Stockham would chase Brewer and Young across the line.

This Friday, July 10th VP Small Engine Fuels & Ingles Performance will present a night of fast, family, affordable fun racing. On the race card will be The Tracey Road Equipment Modifieds, SUNY Canton Sportsman, Pro Race Cars Mod Lites and Hilton’s Automotive Four Cylinders.
Adult grandstand admission will be $12 with everyone 18 yrs. old and younger FREE. Gates open at 5:30 with racing at 7:30.

Any question you have please contact Cory Reed cory@brewertonspeedway.com (315) 668-6906. For all the latest news go to www.brewertonspeedway.com and like the track Facebook page www.facebook.com/BrewertonSpeedway .
July 3, 2015 - Omni Services Night

( Tracey Road Equipment Modifieds 35 Laps ) - TIM KERR, Vic Coffey, Larry Wight, Billy Decker, Mike Bowman, Chad Phelps, Jim Witko Jr., Ryan Phelps, Matt Hulsizer, Jimmy Phelps, Matt Sheppard, Pat Ward, Rob Bellinger, Matt Fink, Tim Sears Jr., Ryan Bartlett, Roy Bresnahan, Chuck Bower, Chris Hile, Andrew Ferguson, Chris Mackey, Joe August Jr., Kyle Armstrong, Kyle Fink, Jeff Blackburn, Vinnie Vitale.

(Omni Services Heat Winners) - Chuck Bower,Chad Phelps, Larry Wight.

(SUNY Canton Sportsman 25 Laps) - TONY FINCH II, Nick Krause, Alan Fink, Corey Barker, Brent Joy, Steve Abt, Rich Townsend, Earl Rudy, Ron Davis III, Daryl Nutting, Jack Meeks, Gregg Kimball, Mike Stanton Jr., Brandon Kuhn, Chris Cunningham, James Carlson, Rocky Grosso, Dylan Zacharias, Tyler Trump, Ricky Yelle, Mike Prentice, Stephen Denton. DNS Kelly Smith.

(Pros Race Cars Mod Lites 20 Laps) - MIKE MULLEN, Jim Bogett, Jeff Sykes, Joe Garafolo, Zach Babcock, Lowell Zehr, Brian Meyers, Keith Stevenson, Kelly Skinner, Joe Isabell, Justin Williams, James Dunham, Jeff Isabell Jr.. DNS Dave Brown.

(Hilton’s Automotive Four-Cylinders 15 Laps) - COLBY HERZOG,, Justin Buske,Sam Curcie Skip DeGroff, Levi Currier, Chris Bonoffski, Jessica Herbert, Chuck Monica, Stephanie Seeley, Mark Wallace, Chuck Powelczyk, Brian Harber, Sam Carista, Jerry Herbert, Thomas  Mackey, Ray Herzog.

( NY6A 600 Sprints 25 laps ) - CLAYTON BREWER III, Jim Young, Kyle Coffey, Danny Knoll, Chris Stockham, Bill Nichoils, Jason Lewczyk, John Kreckman, Shawn Freeland, Justin Groesup, Tyler Walker, Brandon Oddo, Mike Austin, Charles Hunt, Cheyenna Ling, Tyler Groesup, DJ Forbes, Nick Giroff, Tyler Walton, Tyler Hill, Hank Stanhope, Jonathan Westcott, DNS Kyle Morrow, Brian Gould, Jordan Oddy, John Smith.