Larry Wight Scorches Brewerton Speedway Modified Field

By Dave Medler – BREWERTON, NY – May 29, 2015 – To say Larry Wight was impressive Friday night at the Brewerton Speedway might be an understatement. In the 35-Lap Tracey Road Equipment Modified feature Wight would take the lead from Tim Kerr on Lap-8 and never be seriously challenged the rest of the distance.

With the race going caution free, Wight would wheel his Gypsum Express/Tracey Road Equipment/NAPA Auto Parts/Penske Racing Shocks/No.99L/TEO to a 07.611 seconds victory over the runner-up Tim Kerr. The toughest part of the race for Wight was putting cars a lap down as the race action saw cars battling around every inch of the speedway with no time to relax.

Other winners on Regional Truck & Trailer night were, Nick Krause (SUNY Canton Sportsman) Joe Isabell (Pro Race Cars Mod Lites) and Chuck Powelczyk (Hilton’s Automotive Four-Cylinders).

Ryan Bartlett would bolt out to the early lead in the 35-Lap Tracey Rod Equipment Modified feature. Behind Bartlett the field was in a mad scramble for position going two-three and even four wide early on.

With 5-Laps complete on the scoring tower Bartlett, Larry Wight and Tim Kerr came across the line almost three-wide with Joe August Jr. and Chris Mackey right there with the leaders in fourth and fifth.

After working on Bartlett for a couple laps, Wight drove under and bye Bartlett exiting turn-two to be scored the new race leader on the eighth go-round.

With 10-Laps complete Wight was starting to put distance between himself and the rest of the pack. Bartlett and Kerr raced side-by-side for second and third with August and Mackey still showing in the top-five.

At the halfway point Wight was out front with an almost four-second lead and he was starting to put cars a lap down. Kerr, Bartlett, Jim Witko Jr., and Mackey were still battling in the top-five.

Over the second half of the race and no yellows to bunch the field up Wight put on a driving clinic winning by almost a half-a-track at the checkers.. Tim Kerr had his best ever Brewerton finish coming home second. Chris Mackey, Vinnie Vitale and Jim Witko Jr. completed the top-five.

After a couple early yellow flags to start the 25-Lap SUNY Canton Sportsman feature Nick Krause was able to get the lead from Brent Joy on lap-five.

With 10-Laps complete showing on the scoreboard Krause and Joy ran bumper to bumper and side by side at the front of the field. Weekly improving dirt rookie Steve Abt was just a couple lengths behind the top-two with Alan Fink and Jordan Bennett racing in fourth and fifth.

At the halfway point Krause was able to open a few car length advantage over Joy, Abt, Fink, Bennett, Mike Prentice and points leader Jack Meeks who started deep in the field.

With 5-Laps to go Krause lengthened his lead and was also dealing with back markers trying to put them a lap down. With Krause trying to put cars a lap down it gave Joy a chance to close the gap on the leader.

Once Krause put a lapped car between himself and Joy he cruised to his first ever Brewerton Speedway win. Krause would later say it was a huge monkey off his back. The week before at Brewerton he had victory in sight only to see something break in the rear end of the No.24k. The next night at Fulton it looked like he made the winning pass to only have the yellow fly negating his pass as he settled for second.

Brent Joy, Steve Abt, Alan Fink and Jordan Bennett came home second through fifth. Jack Meeks, Ron Davis III, Mike Prentice, Chris Cunningham and Rich Townsend completed the top-ten.

Joe Garafolo would lead the first 5-Laps of the 20-Lap Pro Race Cars Mod Lite feature before a yellow waved bunching up the field. On the restart Joe Isabell was able to drive into the lead on Lap-six. Once out front Isabell went onto his fourth win in five starts at the speedway. Joe Garafolo, Jim Bogett, Jeff Sykes and Mike Mullen came home second through fifth.

Chuck Powelczyk and Chris Bonoffski had an entertaining and spirited battle for the win in the 15-Lap Hilton's Automotive Four-Cylinder feature. At one point in turns one and two Bonoffski and Powelczyk made hard contact turning both cars sideways. Amazingly both racers regained control without losing a spot. At the checkers it was once again Powelczyk taking the win over Bonoffski. Sam Curcie, Tim Dunn and Colby Herzog finished third through fifth.

This coming Friday, June 5th Billy Whittakers Cars & Trux proudly presents Family Autograph night at the speedway. It will be a chance for fans of all ages to come down track-side and get up close to all the race cars, talk to their favorite drivers, get pictures, autographs and get driver giveaways.

On the race card will be the Tracey Road Equipment Modifieds, SUNY Canton Sportsman, Pro Race Cars Mod Lites and Hilton's Automotive Four-Cylinders. Adult grandstand admission will be $12 with everyone 18 yrs. old and younger FREE. Pit admission $27 Participant/$30 Non-Participant. Gates will open at 5:30 with racing at 7:30.

If you have any questions please contact Cory Reed at (315) 668-6906. For all the latest news go to and like the track Facebook page .


Tracey Road Equipment Modifieds 35 Laps) - LARRY WIGHT, Tim Kerr, Chris Mackey, Vinnie Vitale, Jim Witko Jr., Chuck Bower, Mike Bowman, Joe August Jr., Jimmy Phelps, Matt Hulsizer, Pat Ward, Vic Coffey, Billy Decker, Matt Fink, Rob Bellinger, Tom Sears Jr., Matt Sheppard, Matt Billings, Ryan Phelps, Tim Sears Jr., Chris Hile, Chad Phelps, Ryan Bartlett, Tim Schneider Jr., Andrew Ferguson.

(Omni Services Heat Winners) -  Tim Kerr, Larry Wight, Jim Witko Jr.

(SUNY Canton Sportsman 25 Laps) -  NICK KRAUSE, Brent Joy, Steve Abt, Alan Fink, Jordan Bennett, Jack Meeks, Ron Davis III, Mike Prentice, Chris Cunningham, Rich Townsend, Stephen Denton, Ricky Yelle, Gregg Kimball, Dylan Zacharias, John West, James Carlson, Tony Finch II.

(Pro Race Cars Mod Lites 20 Laps) - JOE ISABELL, Joe Garafolo, Jim Bogett, Jeff Sykes, Mike Mullen, Lowell Zehr, Sam Usborne, Brian Meyers, Matt Rainville, Dave Brown, Kelly Skinner, Keith Stevenson, James Dunham, Zach Babcock.

(Hilton's Automotive Four-Cylinders 15 Laps) - CHUCK POWELCZYK, Chris Bonoffski, Sam Curcie, Tim Dunn, Colby Herzog, Ray Herzog, Thomas Mackey, Sam Carista, Bill Carista, Stephanie Seeley.DNS Jerry Herbert.